RESET A COURSE


If you want to "reuse" a course you've already taught on a campus, it's easy to reset it. This process will remove the user data and student information while leaving the activities and pages intact.


Before You Begin


  • Decide which data you want to reset (e.g., start date, user data, roles, etc.)

Begin


  • On the landing page, click the name of the course you want to modify. The screen will change and you will see the course on your screen.
  • Find the Administration Block in the course.
Administration Block

Generally, the Administration Block appears in the left-column or can be found by clicking Administer My Course in a facilitated template. If you cannot find this block, you can temporarily add it to any page by selecting it from the Add Block dropdown. Make sure you’re in Editing mode to see this dropdown.

  • Click the Reset option. The Reset Course page will display.
  • If you want to set a start date, click the checkbox next to Disable and use the drop-down boxes to select the date.
  • Click Student in the Roles area. If you want to assign a different teacher, select Teacher as well using Ctrl-click. Do the same for any other roles you may have assigned if you want to re-assign them.
List of roles for resetting
  • Follow the same procedure to reset the rest of the areas of the course as displayed on this page. In general, if you don't know what it is, don't reset it.

Exercise caution in the Forums area. Keep in mind that deleting all posts in a given forum will also delete any posts made by you or the course teacher. In some cases, it might be better to remove student postings by hand.

  • When you've finished selecting Reset options, click the Reset Course button at the bottom of the screen. In a few moments, a screen will display to let you know the restore has been completed successfully, or if not, what issues occurred that kept the restore from being successful.
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the screen and then click the Continue button. Your course will display on the screen and you can make any additional edits before reuse.

Tip: Another option is to backup and restore a course into a new course.