BACK UP AND RESTORE A COURSE


It's good practice to back up the courses on your campus. Another use for Backup is that you may find that a new course you want to create is very similar to one you already have. In such a case, it's often easier to back up the existing course, restore it, and then make your changes to this copy.


Before You Begin


  • If you are backing up for the purpose of restoring to a new course, determine what data you want to keep (for example, you may want to keep your course files but discard all user data).

Begin


To Back up a Course:

  • On the landing page, click the name of the course you want to back up. The screen will change and you will see the course on your screen.
  • Find the Administration Block in the course.
Administration Block

Generally, the Administration Block appears in the left-column or can be found by clicking Administer My Course in a facilitated template. If you cannot find this block, you can temporarily add it to any page by selecting it from the Add Block dropdown. Make sure you’re in Editing mode to see this dropdown.

  • Click the Backup option. The Course Backup page will display.

If you are backing up as a matter of good practice:

If you are backing up in order to restore to a new course:

  • Scroll to the bottom of the screen and then click the
    Continue button.
  • At the top of the page, notice that you can remove all of the listed activities from the backup, all the user data in the listed activities, or both. If you don't want to do this, you can evaluate each separate activity and include or not include it or its user data.
The Include options

  • After you've completed the process above, click the Continue button at the bottom of the screen.

 

  • If you want, change the name of the backup at the top of the screen. Make sure to use only alphanumeric characters and not to remove the .zip extension.

Example: sandy_backup.zip

  • Scroll down to the bottom of the screen and then click the Continue button. In a few moments, a screen will display to let you know the backup has been completed successfully, or if not, what issues occurred that kept the backup from being successful.
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the screen and then click the Continue button. The screen will change and you will see your new backup. If you were backing up as a matter of good practice, click the name of the file to download it to your own system. If you want to create a new course from your backup, follow the steps outlined below.

If you want to restore the backup at a later time, you can do so by selecting Restore on the Administration block within the course.
To Restore a Course from a Backup:

  • If necessary, click Restore on the Administration block. The screen will change to show you any backups that exist.
  • Click Restore after the name of your backup. A screen will display to let you know you can restore to a new course instead of writing over the existing one.
Restore Option
  • Click the Continue button at the bottom of the screen. Information about the Backup will be retrieved and displayed on the screen.
  • Click the Continue button at the bottom of the screen. You will be able to define the terms of the Restoration process. You can leave these settings as they are or change them to suit your needs. Make sure you look at the options in the Restore to drop-down at the top of the page.
  • Click the Continue button at the bottom of the screen. The screen will change and you will be able to begin the restoration process.
  • Click the Restore this course now button. Before long, a screen will display to let you know the restore has been completed successfully, or if not, what issues occurred that kept the restore from being successful.
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the screen and then click the Continue button. Your course will display on the screen so you can begin customizing it as you like.