BACK UP AND RESTORE A COURSE


It's good practice to back up the courses on your campus. Another use for Backup is that you may find that a new course you want to create is very similar to one you already have. In such a case, it's often easier to back up the existing course, restore it, and then make your changes to this copy.


Before You Begin



Begin


To Back up a Course:

Administration Block

Generally, the Administration Block appears in the left-column or can be found by clicking Administer My Course in a facilitated template. If you cannot find this block, you can temporarily add it to any page by selecting it from the Add Block dropdown. Make sure you’re in Editing mode to see this dropdown.

If you are backing up as a matter of good practice:

If you are backing up in order to restore to a new course:

  • Scroll to the bottom of the screen and then click the
    Continue button.
  • At the top of the page, notice that you can remove all of the listed activities from the backup, all the user data in the listed activities, or both. If you don't want to do this, you can evaluate each separate activity and include or not include it or its user data.
The Include options

  • After you've completed the process above, click the Continue button at the bottom of the screen.

 

Example: sandy_backup.zip

If you want to restore the backup at a later time, you can do so by selecting Restore on the Administration block within the course.
To Restore a Course from a Backup:

Restore Option