TURN OFF SELF-ENROLLMENT FOR A COURSE


You may want to handle course enrollment yourself and turn off a student’s ability to enroll him- or herself automatically. For example, you may use bulk enrollment to automatically enroll students both in the campus and specific courses.


Before You Begin


  • Identify the name of the course to which you want to turn off self-enrollment.
  • Make sure you are logged into your campus as an admin.

Begin:


  • On the landing page, click the name of the course you want to modify. The screen will change and you will see the course on your screen.
  • Find the Administration Block in the course.
Administration Block

Generally, the Administration Block appears in the left-column or can be found by clicking Administer My Course in a facilitated template. If you cannot find this block, you can temporarily add it to any page by selecting it from the Add Block dropdown. Make sure you’re in Editing mode to see this dropdown.

  • Click the Settings option. The Edit Course Settings page will display. Scroll down to the Enrollments area.
Enrollments section on Settings screen
  • Click the No option next to Course Enrollable.
  • At the bottom of the form, click the Save Changes button. Students will no longer be able to enroll themselves in this course. However, you can enroll them yourself using Assign Roles on the Administration block.

Note: turning Course Enrollable off is the preferred method of stopping self-enrollment. If you use the Course Availability settings a little lower down the Settings page, the course will disappear from the landing page.